Friday, April 30, 2010

Doin’ the I500 Shuffle

So unless I’ve missed something, it appears that there are only four seats still up for grabs in this year’s Indy 500 with the following entries being listed as TBA. No. 16: A.J. Foyt; No. 17: Rahal Letterman Racing; No. 27 AFS Racing; No. 98: Team 3G.

So in my best “CAM WOW!” Fashion, I’m gonna go out on a limb and take a very NON Scientific crack at who’ll be the lucky foursome to pilot these rides... As I’ll take the easy picks first; like in you’d like to assume that The Graminator, Err Stash Jnr. Better known as Graham Rahal will find his way into his Pappy’s number 17 RLR ride... Whiled I’d hazard to guess the No. 27 will feature J.R. Hildebrand and the No. 98 most likely Jacques Lazier.

But I’d have to say that it’s ‘Ol Super Tex’s third entry that’s the most intriguing to Mwah; Who could it be? As the Car number was apparently chosen by AJ’s PR Officer Anne Fornoro.

Number picked for a reason
Eyebrows were raised this week when A.J. Foyt Racing's third Indianapolis 500 entry showed the car as No. 16.
Not only has the team used it sparingly in the past -- George Snider carried it in the 1980 race -- it has been the number used in recent years by Scott Sharp.
However, Sharp is not headed for that ride, team spokeswoman Anne Fornoro said. In fact, the use of that number was her idea.
"It was my dad's number," she said proudly. "I suggested it."
Russ Klar was a standout midget driver in the Northeast through the 1950s and early '60s. He won a AAA sprint car race at Illiana Speedway in Schererville, Ind., in 1953. He died in 2005.
(Source:; Curt Cavin)

And although I’d find it quite enjoyable to see ‘PT’s Protégé “P.J. Chessnut” or Phil Geebler get the nod, Cavin goes on to say that if the car runs AJ’s first choice is Jacques Lazier... So perhaps Team 3G would go with Richard Antinucci instead? And of course don’t forget Oriel Servia or whoever else A.J. can russle up from the Shopping Mall’s Baby-R-Us store.

Can you feel the Excitement Baby?
2010 Indy 500 Entry list announced