Tuesday, December 1, 2009

F1 Young Drivers Test begins

Today in Jerez, Formula 1 begins what it’s calling the “Young Drivers” Test in which I previously scribbled ‘bout in:

Hildebrand, Rossi and Others to Test in Jerez

Along with noting yesterday that IRL Driver Mike Conway will be seeing duty at the test session for what will be known as Mercedes Grand Prix in 2010; as I assume that not only is this a valuable Test Session for the spate of Rookie Piloto’s, but a year ends chance for all nine remaining current F1 Constructors to get a few more Kilometers in preparation for next year’s Campaign. Here’s a look at who’s driving for whom.

BMW Sauber
Esteban Gutierrez; Mexico
2008 BMW European Champion

Alexander Rossi; United States
2008 BMW Americas Champion, 2008 BMW World finals Winner

Mike Conway; Britain
2006 British F3 Series Champion, 2006-08 GP2 Series; 1 Victory, 2009 Indy Car Series

Marcus Ericsson; Sweden
2007 BMW UK Champion, 2009 F3 Japan Champion

Jules Bianchi; France
2007 Formula Renault 2.0 Series Champion, 2008 Formula 3 Masters Champion, 2009 Formula 3 Euroseries Champion

Daniel Zamperi; Italy
2009 Italian F3 Series Champion

Marco Zipoli; Italy
2009 Italian F3 Series Runner-up

Pablo Sanchez Lopez; Mexico
2009 Italian F3 Series – Third place

Force India
J.R. Hildebrand; United States
2009 Indy Lights Champion

Paul di Resta; Britain
2006 F3 Euroseries Champion, 2009 DTM Winner

Gary Paffett; Britain
2005 DTM Champion, 2009 McLaren Reserve Driver & DTM Series Competitor

Oliver Turvey; Britain
2006 McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver Award Winner, 2010 GP2 Series

Red Bull
Daniel Ricciardo; Australia
2008 Formula Renault 2.0 WEC Series Champion, 2009 British F3 Series Champion, 2010 World Series by Renault

Bertrand Baguette; Belgium
2007-08 Formula Renault 3.5 Series

Lucas di Grassi; Brazil
2005 Macau Grand Prix Winner, 2006-09 GP2 Series Winner: 5 Victories, 2007 GP2 Series Runner-up

Ho-pin Tung; China
2003 F3 Asia Champion, 2006 ATS Formel 3 Cup Champion, 2008 A1GP Team China, 2009 Superleague Winner

Scuderia Toro Rosso
Mirko Bortolotti; Italy
2008 Italian F3 Series Champion, Current Fiorano track Record Holder

Brendon Hartley. New Zealand
2007 Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series Champion, 2007-08 Formula 3 Euroseries, 2009 Red Bull & Toro rosso F1 Reserve Driver

Nico Hulkenberg; Germany
2009 GP2 Champion

Andy Soucek, Spain
2009 Inaugural F2 Champion

For a great review of all of these Up ‘N Comer’s check out F1 Fanatic’s F1 Rookie’s Test; Guide to the Drivers