Tuesday, September 15, 2009

And then there were 14?

I’m still finding the wording of today’s various press statements somewhat misleading, claiming that a new Formula 1 Constructor has either been granted the 12th or 13th Grid slot for the FIA’s 2010 Entry List, or even better yet… The field will mushroom to an unheard of in recent years 14 F1 Constructors or a very appealing 28 cars competing for Grand Prix laurels next season!

So just who are these new “Mystery” contestants? Whale C’Mon down Malaysia! You’re the next contestant to be granted entrance into Uncle Bernaughty’s lair, commonly known as the Formula One Circus… Hurrah-Hurrah! Step right up folks…

As it appears that once again the upstart Epsilon Euskadi – headed by ex-Benetton man Joan Villadelprat has been slighted in favour of Government backing in the form of Malaysia assisting the rebirth of Team Lotus F1, to be spearheaded by Tony Fernandes, current owner of low frills Airline Air Asia, a direct competitor of Vijay Malia’s Kingfisher Airlines…

Heading the design office will be perennial “Gardening” expert Mike Gascoyne, once again in the role of Chief Designer, with “Cossie Lumps” as the Lotus chassis motivating power.

Meanwhile BMW AG has announced today the selling of its F1 Racing Team to Qadbak Investments Ltd, a Swiss investment firm representing European and Middle East interests and will be represented by Lionel Fischer,, with no word on Pieter Sauber’s involvement, who still retains a minority share holding in the company. Yet, look for a Ferrari engine tie-up deal to be announced in the near future.

And scuttlebutt suggests that Sir Richard Branson will announce a major long term deal with new boys Manor Grand Prix at the 2009 Season Finale in Abu Dubai…

Legendary Lotus brand to return to F1

Provisional 2010 F1 entry list
AT & T Williams

BMW-Sauber F1 Team
Team Sauber-TBA

) Brawn GP Formula One Team
Brawn-Mercedes Benz

Campos Grand Prix

Force India Formula 1 Team
Force India- Mercedes Benz

Lotus F1 Team

Manor Grand Prix

Panasonic Toyota Racing

Red Bull Racing
Red Bull-TBA

Renault F1 Team

Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro
Scuderia Ferrari

Scuderia Toro Rosso
Toro Rosso-TBA

Team USF1
Team USF1-Cosworth

Vodafone McLaren Mercedes
McLaren-Mercedes Benz