Friday, May 22, 2015

Indy 500 Bumps 'N Bruises...

Is I-T a red one, pink one; Oh Never Mind! As No Fenders scribe Tomaso poses with another No. 1 at Mother Speedway! (The Tomaso Collection)
By now Y'all are painfully aware that James Hinchcliffe crashed during  Monday's IndyCar practice session prior to Friday's Carb Day practice session, the last  time competitors will take to the track before the 99th running of the Indianapolis 500. Which I too, like the OLD-est IndyCar Blogger Geo. Phillips, should be enjoying live right about now!

Obviously, the most important thing is that thee "Mayor 'O Hinchtown" (Hinchcliffe) is ok after his bleeding was curtailed and now will recuperate from his soft tissue and pelvic injuries...

As its good to S-E-E that Cheeps' (Ganassi) racing drivers were providing some levity towards their very dangerous sport by pulling another legendary prank upon Target Chip Ganassi Racing newcomer Sage Karam, with his custom Hot Pink Camaro...

While the idea is somewhat good overall, seemingly IndyCar should have made the new Final Row "Bumping" more understandable to "The Fans," as even IMS Historian Donald Davidson seemed somewhat confused over the format's time allotment, along with whether Buddy Lazier was able to take part or not? Being somewhat confused over whether he'd be permitted after forgoing his initial qualification attempt.

Yet, originally the four contenders fighting for the final three starting positions were actually fighting for No's 30-32 with James Davidson being relegated to 33rd. And with Hinchcliffe's accident, I initially thought that whomever replaces him would G-O to the rear of the grid, ergo Davidson. thus moving everybody one spot forward and leaving only Bryan Clauson, the slowest of the qualified runners on the last row?

alas, I've since read that Curty' Cavin says that the No. 5 entry will be allowed to retain its 24th starting position; Hmm? A-L-L of which makes this new qualifying "wrinkle" Clear as Mud  on  a Rainy Day; Hya! As I'd suggest moving  the Final Row "Boomp Festiva" to Saturday after the Field's "Locked-in."

For which I correctly ARSE-sumed, although having deleted my revised starting grid permanently before this discrepancy was reported late Wednesday afternoon. Hence like Alex Tagliani and Co moving forward one place after Davidson dropped to P33, now everybody from Conor Daly back moves up one spot, as presumably Ryan Briscoe will be 33rd...

99th Indianapolis 500
Sunday, May 24, 2015
Television: ABC
Pre-race Hoopla: 8AM Pacific
Race: 9AM Pacific

As ALWAYS! Check your local listings!~

Meanwhile,  also according to Cavin, there's a Schmidt Peterson Motorsports press conference scheduled for Thursday to divulge who'll substitute  for Hinchcliffe at Indy, with odds favouring the affable 'Aussie Ryan Briscoe, whom I sincerely hope gets the drive. Although I'll be on a couple of B-I-G 'Ol Jetliners all day en route to Indianapolis and therefore, will await No Fenders 'Offical Photographer 'CARPETS bringing Mwah up to speed, so-to-speak; Hya!

As the original IndyStar article I read via my NFB Newsline for The Blind was rudely replaced on Zed Internetz, so went with another  story instead...

As there will NOT be any live coverage from Mother Speedway per usual, since 'Lucy, my 'ARSE-steamed screen reader will be staying put at Tomaso Manor over the weekend instead; Hooah!

Although Tristan Vautier qualified James Davidson's #19 21st originally, Vautier was filling in for qualifying only, as the 'Aussie was busy at his "Day Job," piloting a Nissan GTR NISMO GT3 in the Pirelli World Challenge, as Davidson will race the #19 Sunday and therefore go to the end of the field, hence moving everybody behind him one place forward; ergo Briscoe replacing Hinchcliffe, as so much for keeping the news silent pre-press conference, eh?

An in case anybody gets in a Tizzy 'bout Not enough American's in the field, by my count this year's grid is comprised by one-third being 'Yanks! Including the reigning Indy 500 champion.

Marco Andretti, Townsend Bell, Ed Carpenter, Bryan Clauson, Conor Daly, J.R. Hildebrand, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Sage Karam, Charlie Kimball, Joseph Newgarden and Graham Rahal

With a total of eleven countries represented, featuring: Australia, (3) Brazil, (2) Canada, (1) Columbia, (5) France, (2) Great Britain, (3) Japan, 1) Monaco, (1) New Zealand, (1) Spain, (1) Switzerland (1) and USA. (11)

There are a total of five past winners competing in the race with Ryan Hunter-Reay the reigning winner, along with Pole-sitter Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan and Juan Pablo Montoya, all who've one once, while Helio Castroneves is the only multi-times winner in the field with three wins and is seeking an elusive fourth to join the vaunted pantheon of the sport's only four-time winners: A.J. Foyt, Al Unser and Rick Mears.

there are two females: Switzerland's Simona de Silvestro and Britain's Pippa Mann. And there are two rookies: Columbia's Gabby Chaves and Monaco's Stefano Coletti, the lowest number since 2007 when Phil Geebler beat Milka Duno for Rookie Of the Year honours...

(Photo courtesy of No Fenders ‘Offical Photographer ‘CARPETS)