Friday, September 1, 2017

INDYCAR: Will The Glen be an exciting Shootout, or will the Series Dribble into Wine Country half empty?

Although Thar were plenty 'O Fireworks; Err Fisticuffs between the normally gleeful Simon Pagenaud and Josef Playin' Thru Newgarden at Gateway...

As Y'all know, I'm a really, really S-L-O-W typer here in Nofendersville. And hence, I began crafting this riveting No Fenders tome just prior to the final two IndyCar Oval races on this year's calendar.

As I was feeling pretty glum 'bout the remainder of the season then, since even though it was a new name who was at the top of the points table, pre-Pocono. Puh-lease "Mr. Chrome Horn;" Err Paul Tracy, QUIT  calling him Joey New Jive!

Whilst Slick WillyP's even WORSE! As believe Slick Willy's a "Cronyism" for a crooked politician, right? As Will Power's many things, but...

As I'm really NOT feeling any great enthusiasm right now, since most likely the title will be won by another FREAKIN' Penske driver; Sigh! Although I'd like to believe that somebody besides the B-I-G 3', nee Penske, Ganassi and Andretti can once again claw their way into victory lane.

As wouldn't it have been amazing if Conor Daly had pull a Wabbit' outta his Firesuit and won for 'Ol SuperTex at Gateway? Although he did have his best finish of season to date Thar, albeit I was really hoping he could get around HULIO for 4th!

But as 'Ol PT' lamented, Conor was getting the "Scott Pruett Fade" from Castroneves, before having some lively banter with T-Bell' over what had Pruett ever done to him?

As it seems such a long time ago when one of the non Big-3 were leading the championship, albeit we all knew that the Minnowesqe Dale Coyne Racing and it's Pied Piper le Hamburgular', nee SeaBass, aka Sebastain Bourdais would  be hard pressed to hang onto his unlikely points lead after his improvable win at St Pete.

Whilst thee Mayor 'O Hingetown's James Hinchcliffe kept the fantasy alive by winning at Long Beach, before the nebulous Penske Death Star cast it's shadow; Err weight upon thou Paddock, with Josef New garden's Debutante Team Penske victory in Round 3 at thee Barber's.

Yet like I've scribbled; Err typed before, even though half of Penske's quartet were once my favourite drivers, nee Will Power and Simon Pagenaud, I simply couldn't root for them anymore when they're both on the same team.

and now Ditto for Newgarden, who's talent was obvious, especially during his Ed Carpenter & Sarah Fisher days, whilst Y'all know I've never been a HULIO' supporter! As can it really be seven years  since I was the only fan vociferously BOOING him at Edmonton!

And I was afraid that my current Numero Uno driver Conor Daly's career would take a knock at the perpetually underperforming A.J. Foyt enterprises this year,  albeit largely due to  the team's switch to the Bowtie' this season, eh?

And with the apparently now permanent banquishment to the frozen tundra of Siberia; Err dismissal from an adventurous IndyCar career, my No. 2 Driver Mikhail Aleshin's dismissal in favour of Sebastian Saavedra, for at least the final two Ovals, leaves me relatively ice blue in regards for aspiring drivers to root for.

As I'd LUV' to see thee "Young Wicky<" nee Robert Wickens get a chance for a proper IndyCar race weekend outing, which unfortunately won't happen...

While I'm far more  interested on how the 2018 season line-ups will shake out? And whether or not Mikey A' will take Chevrolet's money, causing pandemonium in the paddock?

As I've struggled all year long before Aleshin's sacking to come up with who my third most favourite driver would be? As I like Alexander Rossi and J.R. Hildebrand, while Spencer Pigott seems to quietly go about his job, and needs a fulltime ride next year; Psst Cheep!

And Ed Jones, who doesn't inhibit WOW factor to Mwah, has impressed this season. While I'd say the verdict's still out upon Carlos Munoz and part timer Esteban Gutierrez, albeit both didn't make any friends during the Mid Ohio race!

Yet as typical, Thars' far more drivers wanting rides vs. seats available, as Jack Harvey and Zach Veach's names spring to mind. While it be fantastic if  Sweden's Felix Rosenqvist could get a drive with Ganassi next year, although I'm guessing Santi' (Santiago Urrutia) might land there instead?

Can Y'all tell I'm beating the drum for Ganassi to retool by letting TK' Follow-your-Schnoz! Kanaan retire to Sports Cars. As thou Cheapster needs to join the Youth brigade a la his fiercest rival Penske's doing...

As 'Ol R', aka Robin Miller seemed to imply that both Max Chilton & Kanaan are gone after this season, while somebody's also noted that their divorce is gonna be ugly! Hmm, was that Geo. Phillips?

Alas, it's funny to Mwah that I still recall rootin' against El Capitano' (Roger Penske) and HULIO' Wayback in 2002 in favour of Panther Racing's Sam "I AM" Hornish, Jr. after Penske had defected to the rival, sinister Indy Racing League; Ah, thou good 'Ol Split!

As sadly, all of Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART) "Heavy Hitters" saw the writing on the wall that 'lil Napoleon, nee TG and Mother Speedway would win the war way before I was willing to admit so. As the war was truly over by '03, albeit NO IRL team's won the championship since the influx of CART teams...

So who will it be? As Three Men and Crickets from Oil Pressure Blog's August 16th One Take Only episode saw George, John and Ringo; Err Paul predicting the following.

Albeit defaulting to their guest Paul Dalbe of ex-More Front Wing fame, who thinks Scott Dixon will prevail. While the president of the Graham Rahal Fan Club John McLallen picked Josef Newgarden and thou OLD-est IndyCar Blogger George"Geo." Phillips  stuck with his favourite driver, Helio Castroneves, who I'm pretty certain will have faded by now.

As I wondered if the relatively silent "Symone Pagenoe" or as No Fenders Offical Photographer CARPETS' calls him Pageantry, aka Simon Pagenaud will be  in the Catbird seat after this weekend's race? As I've picked him as my title winner after watching that riveting One Take video prior to Pocono.

Watkins Glen will be the final race of the year I partake, perceivably, albeit now I'm only 50% certain, since I've got zero idea if I'll be back in time, this weekend?

Whilst I'll definitely miss the season finale, and will need No Fenders F1 News Hound Jonathan to tell me who won the Bloody Snorhoma' Race and who'll be joining the list of IndyCar Series Champions over the Sonoma weekend...

IndyCar Series Champions
Year     Driver                                      Team
2016 Simon Pagenaud              Penske Racing
2015 Scott Dixon                         Target Chip Ganassi Racing
2014 Will Power                          Penske Racing
2013 Scott Dixon                         Target Chip Ganassi Racing
2012 Ryan Hunter-Reay           Andretti Autosport
2011 Dario Franchitti  Target Chip Ganassi Racing
2010 Dario Franchitti Target Chip Ganassi Racing
2009 Dario Franchitti               Target Chip Ganassi Racing
2008 Scott Dixon                        Target Chip Ganassi Racing
2007 Dario Franchitti               Andretti Green Racing
2006 Sam Hornish, Jr.              Marlboro Team Penske
2005 Dan Wheldon                    Andretti Green Racing
2004 Tony Kanaan                     Andretti Green Racing
2003 Scott Dixon                        Target Chip Ganassi Racing
2002 Sam Hornish, Jr.              Panther Racing
2001 Sam Hornish, Jr.               Panther Racing
2000 Buddy Lazier                     Hemelgarn Racing