Friday, January 26, 2024

ROLEX 24: Another Bumper Crop of IndyCar Drivers

As who needs the Thermal Club Celebrity race? Since this is what I call a true All Star event!


Know Y’all are probably tiring of my reminding Y’all of my lack ‘O time for typing everythingy’ I wanted to get posted here upon No Fenders before my impendin sabbatical, But!


As here’s the list of current 2024 IndyCar Series drivers contesting this year’s 62nd running of the 24 Hours of Daytona. Which I gleamed over the winter Holidays.



As usual, six times IndyCar Champion Scott Dixon begins His racing season by co-driving the #01 Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac V-Series.R entry with le Hamburgular’, nee Sealmeister B’, aka Sebastien Bourdais and Renger van der Zande.


While the second Caddy’ in the GTP ranks will see the No. 31 Whelen Engineering piloted by Pipo Derani, Jack “Achey Breaky” Aitken and Meyer Shank Racing’s Tom “The Bomb” Blomqvist.


El Capitano’, nee roger Penske’s Porsche Penske Motorsport two car Porsche 963 entry sees it’s Nos. 6-7 return. With reigning Indianapolis 500 winner Josef Newgarden as part of the No. 7’s four driver lineup, alongside Dane Cameron, Felipe Nasr and Matt Campbell. In what I believe is Newgarden’s Rolex 24 debut?


Wayne Taylr Racing with Andretti’s brace of Acura ARX-06 chassis are packed with two stellar lineups!


As the team’s traditional #10 entry sees 2022 Indianapolis 500 winner and new Andretti Global recruit Marcus Ericsson and Bad Arse Sports Car Ace Brendon Hartley as it’s “guest” drivers alongside Ricky Taylor and Filipe Albuquerque.


The team’s new second No. 40 entry features Jordan Taylor and Louis Delatraz being joined by Colton Herta and some Bloke named Jenson Button!


And yes, I’m aware that Bobby Rahal and Company are campaigning two BMW M Team RLL (Rahal Letterman Lanigan) M8 Hybrid’s in the GTP category. But this riveting No Fenders story is just about IndyCar drivers, and not respective IndyCar teams…


Wasn’t expecting this. But on January 10th, news broke that reigning IndyCar Champion Alex Palou would co-drive the Chip Ganassi Racing #01 Cadillac V-Series.R entry. With the Spaniard partnering Sebastien Bourdais, Render van der Zande and Scott Dixon.


Bumping us up to twelve 2024 IndyCar drivers taking part in this year’s race Me Thinks…



The United Autosports Squad co-owned by Zakery Brown and Richard Dean comes loaded for Bear with it’s Nos. 2 & 22 Oreca 07 entries. The No. 2 features my Numero Uno IndyCar driver Pato O’Ward. Sharing the ride with Ben Keating, former IndyCar driver Ben Hanley and Nico Pino.


The Seester’ #22 entry features former McLaren and current Meyer Shank Racing IndyCar driver Felix-the-Cat’, ergo Felix Rosenqvist at it’s controls. Partnered by Paul di Resta, Dijoy Garg and Dan Goldburg.


Team Penske’s ScottyMac’, aka Scott McLaughlin returns to the controls of the No. 8 Tower Motorsports Oreca 07. Along with team owner John Farano, Charlie Eastwood and Michael Dinan.


Almost overlooked Ed Carpenter Racing (ECR) rookie IndyCar driver Christian Rasmussen. As the Dane’ will co-drive the No. 18 Era Motorsport Oreca with Ryan “Razzle Dazzle” Dalziel, Dwight Merriman and Connor Zilisch.


Then just mere days before ringing in the New year. Word came late that DragonSpeed would replace the withdrawn No. 53 Porsche GTD entry.


With DragonSpeed confirming that 19yr old rookie Ganassi IndyCar driver Kyffin Simpson would share it’s No. 81 Oreca LMP2 entry with James Allen and Eric Lux. With the team also confirming it would cntest the entire five rounds of this year’s Michelin Endurance Cup.



Kyle Kirkwood once again will return to the keyboard of the Vasser Sullivan Racing’s #14 Lexus RC F GT3 entry, alongside reigning GTD Pro champions Jack Hawksworth and Ben Barnicoat.


Whilst many eyeballs will probably be upon the No. 9 Pfaff Motorsports McLaren 720S GT3 whose “guest drivers include the likes of thee Mayor ‘O Hinchtown’, aka James Hinchcliffe and His Good Buddy Alexander Rossi! As Hinch’ has signed up to run all of the Michelin Endurance Cup events alongside regular season drivers Oliver Jarvis and Marvin Kirchhofer, with Rossi Moonlighting at Daytona.


GT Daytona (GTD)

And the Driver announcements just keep ah-Dribblin’ out! Having learned of Romain Grosjean’s inclusion aboard the No. 60 Iron Lynx Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo2 entry on December 19th.


As Grosjean will team with team Owner Claudio Schiavoni and Matteo Cressoni, who’d previously been announced. While Matteo Cairoli was announced as the other member of the Lambo’s quartet of drivers.


And then Grosjean will move onto the Lamborghini SP63 GTP entry at the 12 Hours of Sebring. Where the latest Le Mans Daytona Hybrid, (LMDH) nee  IMSA GTP prototype will make it’s series debut. With Iron Lynx contesting both the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, and the FIA World Endurance Championship. (WEC)


Then on January 15th, news broke that IMSA had upgraded the Iron Lynx #60 to GTD Pro status due to it’s driver’s line-up. Giving us a revised total of 13 GTD Pro entries.


Meanwhile, the No. 91 Kelly Moss with Riley Motorsports GTD (Daytona) Porsche 911 has been withdrawn from this year’s Rolex 24. Giving us just 24 GTD entries, and an overall car count of 59 entries for this year’s Rolex 24.


As that’s what I initially ascertain prior to Christmas, since I was busy watchin’ for Santa! (With further updates included) So my apologies if I’ve missed any of the 2024 IndyCar Series current drivers racing in the Rolex 24 this January. Since no word on whether or not Sparky’, aka Devlin DeFrancesco has been confirmed at Coyne yet?