Monday, August 21, 2023

The ever continuing IndyCar silly Season Scrum’

As I’m 98% certain that “Free Agency” began on August 1st…


Prior to is it just TO’ Up North, Eh? Err Toronto Qualifying, I scribbled the following Silly Season conjecture below. Since Thanks to Alex Palou, whose simply continues Shitting Gold Bricks! Seems like we’re All more interested in the 2024 Silly Season vs. finishing the Championship this year, Eh?


Which obviously Palou’s totally turned next year’s “silly Season” upside down and on it’s Head with His decision to now stay at Ganassi instead! Making me wonder if Marcus Ericsson will wind up in the Arrow McLaren No. 6 ride instead?


And that was before Palou’s “Midas” touch saw His Front wing being Held intact by just some sponsor Deckels for nearly 40-laps, Aye Karumba!


As I came up with at least One-third of the field being replaced or in different Homes next year. But think I can get to at least 11 drivers On the Bubble! As here’s my list, albeit Don’t know if Thars’ been any earth shattering announcements since I’ve been Out ‘n Aboot’ since Iowa. Like Take Off eh!


A.J. foyt Enterprises

No changes expected. Since possibly the series most popular rookie on the Grid Benjamin Pederson brings the Sexton sponsorship? And The Great Santini’, aka Santino Ferrucci definitely returns.


Well I’m guessing whomever this Global Motorsports Group that Pederson runs for supposedly in Sammamish, WA seems to have money, and who else would Hire Him?


Andretti Autosport

Devlin DeFrancesco had already been announced as leaving at season’s end, prior to Toronto. Whilst Romain Grosjean is definitely on the Hot Seat. And guessing that Marcus Ericsson takes over the No. 28 DHL ride, since Grosjean’s stock seems to be continuously Freefalling! And that was before the Frenchman said that the wheel had “slipped” outta His Hands on the Bumpy Streets of Toronto, Butterfingers!


Thus, I’m guessing it’s a good thing that Romain’s already signed to drive the Factory Lamborghini SC63 Le Mans Daytona Hybrid (LMDH) IMSA GTP Prototype next year, or will He be seeing FIA World Endurance Championship duty instead? Leaving just the No. 29 open for somebody new to take over.


Arrow McLaren

Pato O’Ward and Alexander Rossi are both staying. And the worst kept secret is Alex Palou bringing His Astor Cup and taking Felix-the-Cat’ Rosenqvist’s No. 6 ride.


Chip Ganassi Racing

Alex Palou is leaving CGR as soon as the Laguna Seca season finale finishes! And most likely Marcus Ericsson’s gone too. Leaving Cheep’ with at least two seats to fill. Marcus Armstrong wants to remain as a Full season driver next year, but needs to come up with more cash. So I’ll say there’s just two open seats at Ganassi to fill, with Armstrong continuing. But don’t know  who winds up here?


According to Racer’s Marshall Pruett; Don’t expect former FIA Formula 2 driver Robert Shwartzman to find His way to Ganassi. Even though He had a promising test, Pruett says Shwartzman’s lined-up for some Ferrari Sports Car Gig instead…


Dale Coyne Racing

David Malukas announced He was leaving during the Mid-Ohio weekend. And Sting Ray Robb seems most likely gone, since He Ain’t exactly moving the “Needle”.


As it’s always interesting to see who Coyne picks from obscurity to fill His rides. Although I can somehow “See” Sparky’, nee Devlin DeFrancesco filling Robb’s seat…


Ed Carpenter Racing

Count Dracula’, ergo Rinus VeeKay has one more year on His current ECR contract. Hey, that’s the new nickname I came up with for thee Nedierlander’ after spearing Alex Palou in the Pits during the Indy 500. Not to mention many drivers, including ScottyMac’, aka Scott McLaughlin aren’t impressed with His Herky Jerky driving style!


Arse-suming the dude! Nee Ryan Hunter-Reay won’t return to the No. 20 cockpit and we’ll have to wait ‘n see who’s left available for Fast Eddie to Hire? But Felix-the-Cat’ (Rosenqvist) would be a good, solid Hire here…


Juncos Hollinger Racing

“Team Leader” Callum Ilott moves onto a “Bigger ‘n Better” IndyCar team, whomever that is? While Augustin Canapino returns for His second year.


Ilott could land at either Ganassi or Andretti, which I think the latter would be a better fit, although Ilott and Armstrong are good friends, Ilott Don’t have any money to give Cheep! And Meyer shank Racing wouldn’t be a bad place either…


Meyer Shank Racing

Scuttlebutt suggests that it’s a mere formality before Toronto IndyCar rookie Tom “the Bomb” Blomquist replaces Hulio’ for next year. With Helio Castroneves going to MSR’s sports Car team and running a “One-off” Indy 500 entry next year.


Think Pageantry’, nee Simone’ ergo Simon Pagenaud’s also gone from MSR next year, and also moves to sports Cars fulltime. And would be a much better choice over Hulio! But it’s worth noting that Mikey A’ and Wayne Taylor are expanding to two Acura GTP entries next year and Simon’s got a long history with Honda. So I’ll pencil Him in in one of the Acura’s next year…


Thinking this is Malukas’s best bet to “Move” forward on the Grid.


Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

Graham Rahal and the driver No Fenders Offical’ Photographer Carpets’ nicknamed Looney Guard or was that supposed to be Christian Lundgaard, Hya! Will both return to RLLR next year. Odd man out is Jack Not Bloody Nige Harvey! Who I think will be hard pressed to remain in IndyCar next year.


As I’d like to see reigning Indy Lights champion Linus Lundqvist get the nod, but guessing it’ll be a Pay Driver landing here, and Linus don’t have any dineor…


Yet following Toronto Marshall Pruett noted that Lundqvist is “inching” Closer to a possible three race Dealio towards season’s end, including the Gateway Oval and two other Road/Street Course races. As I’m guessing that Lundqvist makes His IndyCar debut with RLLR…


Team Penske

The only IndyCar team 100% definitely not making any changes. And won’t have a driver vacancy until DJ WillyP’, aka Wonderful Will (Power) leaves for Sports Cars.


As that’s what I’m aware of, but Don’t have a Clue who’s gonna fill what seat or going where? As we’ll just have to wait ‘n see who’s the first announcement…