Friday, June 14, 2019

LE MANS: So just Who'll still be paying Attenzione to this year's 24hrs Sleeper?

As the Overall victory should be another Toyota whitewash...

This year, as I've already lamented, I've been busy with company and enjoying Thee Great Outdoors. Hence I didn't even begin perusing this year's 24 Heurs du Mans entry list before less than a Fortnight's time prior to thou Tricolour waving.

Alas, this will be a somewhat, hopefully Chirp-Chirp, Bueller? Shortened version of my typically eclectic No Fenders Circuit de la Sarthe previews.

And as we all know, Toyota was finally victorious at Le Mans after Decades 'O Frustration, albeit Thar win is somewhat Hollow due to the lack of any true Competizione...

For this year, the 87th edition's entry list has swelled to a Mega' record 62 entries, reportedly with two extra temporary Pit Boxes being added. Now slightly biased in favour of the Gran Torismo "Saloons" categories, which is evenly split with 17 entries apiece in the GTE Pro & GTE Am ranks.

Whilst the second tier LMP2 Prototypes outnumber Thar Bigger Bro' LMP1 competitors two-to-one, which I suppose means theoretically one could sneak it's way upon the overall podium?

As once again, Toyota will be the only Factory backed Hybrid LMP1 chassis in the field, it's Driver's line-ups intact from last year, led by Fernando Alonso making his World Endurance Championship (WEC) Swan Song as the reigning Le Mans winner about the No. 8 entry.

As the LMP1 field is a virtual carbon copy of last year's with the exception of the Demise of the Short-lived CEFC-TRSM Racing Ginetta/Mecachrome chassis to be campaigned by Manor Endurance Racing affair, seeing eight cars competing instead of ten.

Along with Bloody Jense', aka Jenson Button being replaced by fellow  ex-McLaren Formula 1 Protégé Stoffel Vandoorne at SMP Racing.

While once again Thars' plenty 'O other notable Drivers progress to track in this year's event. From the likes of Sky Sports F1 Pundits 'N Presenter's ANT', nee Anthony Davidson and Paul di Resta racing in the LMP2 category, which also sees Yank DPi Prototype's Driver Ricky Taylor Moonlighting aboard the No. 37 Jackie Chan DC Racing alongside Jordan King and David Heinemeier Hansson.

Along with noticing Pastor Maldonado's name, and Nico Jammin and Uhm, Guido-the-Dutchman', nee Giedo van der Garde anchoring an All Dutch LMP2 Squad.

With the likes 'O FishyFellah', aka Giancarlo Fisichella and Edward Cheever III once again bolstering thou Prancing Horse's ranks, both piloting Ferrari 488 GTE entries being just some of the multiple competitor's names I recognize...

Although I totally expect this year's Le Mans, now on the renamed MotorTrend Network, which according to my Zap-2-It' TV Guide begins at Bloody Freakin' 5AM Pacific,, which I certainly will not be getting up for!

ARSE-Sumedly with an Hour's Pre-amble before thou Tricolour waves? Since MotorTrend's FIA Le Mans TV Coverage is slated to end at 6:30AM Pacific, the following day, albeit I'm expecting the race for Overall Honours To be another Dud, with the Toy-Yoter's once again waxing the entire field; YAWN!

As hopefully, whenever I check for the results via my NFB Newsline for The Blind Telephone service, Thee No. 7 Toyota will have been victorious...