Friday, January 26, 2018

ROLEX 24: Does Qualifying really Matter?

And will the Pole Sitter be victorious? Since I've got ZERO Blinkin' idea how many teams starting P1 have won the race over the years?

This year's Qualifying for the 56th running of the 24 Hours of Daytona took place on Thursday, like it does every year, as part of Daytona's Stupendous "speed Weeks."

As Qualie' was apparently a real shoot-out with Wayne Taylor Racing's No. 10 Cadillac DPi VR driven by its newest Schue Renger van der Zande snatchin' Pole away from HULIO', nee Helio Castroneves in the #7 Acura ARX-05.

This year's Rolex 24 field is once again a veritable Who's Who of Motor Racing, which just seems to get bigger each year. With a total of seven current IndyCar Drivers, albeit Castroneves is just running the Month 'O May for El Capitano', nee Roger Penske.

As these seven, which I've already scribbled 'bout briefly in my Rolex 24 previews have won the Indianapolis 500 seven times, along with eleven IndyCar Championships - including CART, IRL, Champ Car and IndyCar series combined.

Thars' also two 2018 Formula 1 Drivers taking part, with one having won the F1 World Championship twice. Not to mention a current F1 Test Driver, a few 'RASSCAR Taxicab Drivers, countless ex-Formula 1 and IndyCar Drivers along with Oh Yeah, the Sports Car contingent!

Let's Get Ready to Rumble...