Monday, March 4, 2024

IndyCar Season Preview: Presenting the 2024 Bowtie Boyz’

Are we really, really finally going racing?


Otay Folks!, what am I gonna Complain about now, Eh? Since our yearly Insufferable Miserably L-O-N-G 43 weeks IndyCar Off-season is finally over! As it’s only been a Gory Half year or 182 days for those counting since Laguna Seca’s season finale…


2024 Chevrolet Team line-ups

This is just intended to be a hopefully somewhat Brief rundown upon the 12 Fulltime Bowtie’ runners in this year’s NTT IndyCar Series Championship.


A.J. Foyt Enterprises (2)

(Team/Car No/Drivers)

#14 Santino Ferrucci, USA

#41 Sting Ray Robb, USA


The first of Foyt’s two drivers announced was Sting Ray Robb replacing Benjamin Pedersen in the more familiar No. 41 came Wayback’ on December 15th. As Pedersen had run the “Double Nickel” #55 last season.


Yet Pederson said not so fast A.J. & Larry! Saying He expected His multi-year contract signed in 2023 thru 2025 to be Honoured, Kaput! Even though this would be the worst thing Foyt could do, especially after All of the “Friends” Pedersen made on-track last season!


As I could only surmise this was posturing on Pedersen’s side of the equation. And that Foyt felt confident of either a “Get Out” contract clause or buy out clause?


As I’ll be extremely disappointed if thee Great Santini’ isn’t back behind the No. 14 keyboard this year. Since my favourite memory is Ferrucci saying over the IN-car radio at Mother Speedway: Should we go lead this boys?


Then on January 9th, it was publicly announced that Foyt had indeed signed Ferrucci to return for another full season campaign as the driver of it’s No. 14 entry, with no mention of Pedersen’s name at all! Meaning the team must feel confident it can break the Danish-American’s contract, and it’s remaining two years duration…


Whilst what’s that old adage about if you don’t have anything nice to say? For which I don’t have any witty repartee for Sting Ray, other than He’s now driving for the right brand…


Arrow McLaren

#5 Patricio “Pato” O'Ward, Mexico

#6 David Malukas, USA

#7 Alexander Rossi, USA


While my current Numero Uno IndyCar driver Pato O’Ward had a decent season last year, finishing fourth overall. Obviously the Mexican driver was disappointed to have victory at St Pete and Texas slip away! With Pato wanting to add to his meager four wins tally overall this season! Not to mention being in the title fight.


Think everybody knows about ‘lil Dave’, aka David Malukas being hastily signed as Alex Palou’s replacement for 2024. As this is a big step up for Malukas, and I’ll be interested on how He fairs.


While I feel that Alexander Rossi definitely needs to step up His “Game” this year. For which I believe He’ll have a new Engineer to “Gel” with, since Craig Hansen left the team and is currently on “Gardening” leave…


Ed Carpenter Racing (2)

#20 (R) Christian Rasmussen, Denmark; “Twisties” Only + Third Indy 500 entry

#20 Ed Carpenter, USA; Ovals Only

#21 Rinus VeeKay, Netherlands


Christian Rasmussen, the reigning Indy NXT Champion, brings his shrunken $850k prize fund to ECR in a part-time drive. Which is a total shame that the promising Dane’ doesn’t get a proper crack at a full rookie season. Thanks Penske Entertainment! Although Rasmussen will at least get to contest His debutante Indianapolis 500 in a third ECR entry.


Boss Fast Eddie’, aka Ed Carpenter is slated to run just the Ovals once again this year, albeit shelving the No. 33 entry and running the No. 20 instead.


 Rinus VeeKay, whom I nicknamed Count Dracula after turfing Alex Palou at Mother Speedway! Is in the final year of His ECR contract, and needs to continue the late season charge He had last year in order to stay in Indy Cars…


Juncos Hollinger Racing (2)

#77 Romain Grosjean, France

#78 Augustin Canapino, Argentina


Have already belaboured the point ah-Mighty here upon No Fenders how I’ve completely soured over this ‘lil team does good story, following the Callum Ilott saga last year!


As Romain Grosjean moves to His third IndyCar team in four seasons and is hoping to rekindle the magic of His rookie season with Dale Coyne. As I just want to know how soon until the Fireworks erupt when Grosjean and Canapino tussle with each other…


Team Penske (3)

#2 Joseph Newgarden, USA

#3 Scott McLaughlin, New Zealand

#12 Will Power, Australia


2023 Wins: 5

Josef Newgarden, (4) Scott Mclaughlin (1)


This is the only team on this year’s 2024 IndyCar Grid to not change any of it’s drivers.


Josef Newgarden leads the way as the reigning Indianapolis 500 winner, along with having four Oval wins, only missing out at Gateway. (World Wide Technology Raceway) As Josef seemed to have a pretty streaky season and will be wishing to clinch His third IndyCar Championship.


ScottyMac’, nee Scott McLauglin was the top Penske finisher third overall with a single W’ at thee Barber’s, aka Barber Motorsports Park. Meaning His teammates will be aiming to knock Him off of His perche.


2022 IndyCar Champion Will Power had a mostly forgettable season, scoring just one podium I believe last year. As Will was far more consumed by His wife Liz’s medical condition for which She’s recovered from. And thus, DJ WillyP’ will be aiming to get back to His winning ways…


(R = Rookie)