Wednesday, March 6, 2024

IndyCar Season Preview: The 2024 Honda runners’

It’s Almost showtime Ladies ‘n Germs, Ready or Not, we’re live in 24Hrs!


Well, and No Tomas Sr. It’s A Deep subject Joke Here Folks, Hya! But It’s time again to throw the Green flag and Go Racing! As the IndyCar’s and their former Road to Indy supporting cast, including Indy NXT take over  the Saint Petersburg’s Airfield temporary Street Circuit beginning this Friday, March 8th.


As Y’all Don’t know how mucho I’ve been looking forward to this! Counting down the weeks during my Open Heart surgery recovery, Hopefully now on week six-of-eight! And finally get to listen to something I’ve been anxiously Ah-waitin’ since January 23rd, Hurrah! Since I Ain’t getting up at OH-Dark 30 to watch MaxiMillions win another Gory Grand Prix!


let’s go Racing!



Full disclosure Folks. This story was written in early January. And therefore, as of the morning of January 20th, when I uploaded this No Fenders post. Dale Coyne still hadn’t divulged who it’s two IndyCar drivers would be this season.


2024 Honda Team line-ups

Attempting another hypothetically short synopsis of the 15 Honda powered Drivers on this year’s IndyCar Grid.


Andretti Global (3)

(Team/Car No/Drivers)

#26 Colton Herta, USA

#27 Kyle Kirkwood, USA

#28 Marcus Ericsson, Sweden


2023 Wins: 2

Kyle Kirkwond (2)


More changes abound at Mikey A’s team this year. The biggest being the downsizing to only three cars for the first time since 2004 Me Thinks. Along with the departure of Romain Grosjean in favour of Marcus Ericsson, the 2022 Indianapolis 500 winner.


Ericsson got His wish upon leaving Ganassi to become one of the small cadre of paid IndyCar drivers this year, and will team with Grosjean’s former engineer Olivier Boisson.


As the Swede’ won once last year at St Pete, following Pato O’Ward’s momentary plenum fire! Along with a dejected runner-up finish at the most controversial Indy 500 last year! Finishing sixth overall in the series Championship, ahead of His two new teammates.


Colton Herta had a season of what could have been? Including multiple Race Strategists whilst seeing two W’s slip away! As Herta will be eager to reinsert Himself into the title fight and rebound from a disappointing 10th place overall finish.


Kyle Kirkwood was Andretti Autosport’s shining light last year, notching His first two IndyCar wins, with a dominating weekend at Long Beach. Along with a late race pass to win at Nashville. And having vaulted 13 spots in last year’s standings to P11, “Kirk” Kirkwood will be aiming to crack the Top 10 this year.


Chip Ganassi Racing (5)

#4 (R) Kyffin Simpson, Cayman Islands

#8 (R) Linus Lundqvist, Sweden

#9 Scott Dixon, New Zealand

#10 Alex Palou, Spain

#11 Marcus Armstrong, New Zealand


2023 Wins: 9

Alex Palou, (5) Scott Dixon (3) and Marcus Ericsson (1)


Obviously the Biggest change at Ganassi is the expansion to five Full season entries, a first for CGR. Along with reigning IndyCar Champion Alex Palou having decided to stay with Cheep’ in 2024 vs. moving on to McLaren. Take that Zakery!


As Palou had a magical season enroute to His second title in three years with five wins, and will be hard pressed to repeat that.


While what can I say about the timeless Scott Dixon? Other than Dixon won’t be content with finishing runner-up to Palou last year!


Although have to say I’m more interested in the progress of two of it’s newest members. Last year’s Rookie Of the Year (ROY) winner Marcus Armstrong, who’ll be contesting His first full season, plus His debutante Indy 500. Along with 2022 Indy Lights Champion Linus Lundqvist.


As I’m totally “Stoked” upon both of these drivers, and totally hard pressed to pick whom I like better? As I look for good things from both Kiwi’ Armstrong and Swede’ Lundqvist, whose making His Full season rookie campaign this year.


The fifth Ganassi runner is still a Head Scratcher for Mwah. As 18yr old rookie Kyffin Simpson seems totally unready to graduate to IndyCar. But with His father’s Ridgeline sponsorship backing, Kyffin makes the leap ahead of schedule, and most likely will be a non factor…


Dale Coyne Racing with HDM Motorsports (1)

#18 TBA


The wily Dale Coyne reverted back to His time honoured tradition of being the last to announce His latest driver choices in the new year. As we All Ah-waited with Baited Breath over who’d Dale would choose?


As Enzo Fittipaldi, younger brother of Pietro tested late last year. With FIA formula 2 Champion theo Pourchaire mentioning His interest in giving Indy Cars a crack. Whilst I’ve got zero clue over who the other interested prospects are?


Other than I know that DCR Development driver Danial Frost is a possibility, along with Sparky’, aka Devlin De Francesco.


And Marshall Pruett sounded fairly certain that Sparky’ would indeed be one of the two DCR drivers during His January 10th The Week in IndyCar’s podcast. Making me think DeFrancesco will be piloting the No. 18 this season…


Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing (1)

#51 TBA




Meyer Shank Racing (2)

#60 Felix Rosenqvist, Sweden

#66 (R) Tom Blomqvist, UK

(Technical Partnership with Andretti Global?)


Meyer Shank starts the season with a clean sheet on the drivers front with the departures of Helio Castroneves and Simon Pagenaud. Although Hulio’ will run a third MSR entry at Mother Speedway this May.


Hopefully I’m not putting too much pressure upon whom I enjoy calling tom “The Bomb” Blomqvist! As the former MSR Sports Car champion was blindingly quick in the Acura IMSA GTP Prototype. Being intent upon improving in Indy Cars this year after His few tune-up starts last season as one of Pagenaud’s substitutes.


No Fenders Offical’ Photographer CARPETS’ has anointed Felix Rosenqvist with the nickname of Felix-the-Cat. Possibly due to His nine lifes for remaining an IndyCar driver?


As I’m a Fan of the Swede’s and would like to see Him win His second IndyCar race for MSR.


Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (3)

#15 Graham Rahal, USA

#30 Pietro Fittipaldi, Brazil

#45 Christian Lundgaard, Denmark


2023 Wins: 1

Christian Lundgaard (1)


Graham Rahal, entering his 18th IndyCar season Me Thinks? Is the De Facto Team leader. And obviously “Hungry” to continue upon His marked upswing towards season’s end, and finally return to the top step of the podium! Now entering His seventh season without a win, Yikes!


22yr old Dane’ Christian Lundgaard, former FIA Formula 2 championship and Alpine Academy driver, gave RLLR it’s first victory in three years last July Up North Eh! At Toronto and finished eighth overall in the driver standings. As Lundgaard seems poised to continue His upwards trajectory.


Whilst I’m still totally baffled over Pietro Fittipaldi’s selection to replace Jack Harvey! Other than having already noted that Fittipaldi’’s got a better sound vs. vips, and His Oval prowess should be a benefit for the team…


(R = Rookie)